Section Builds Community through Educational and Leadership Opportunities

Sebastian Kaplan of Fenwick & West accepted the position of 2017 Chair of The Bar Association of San Francisco’s Intellectual Property (IP) Section Melody Drummond Hansen, of O’Melveny & Myers, is serving as the section vicechair.

The IP Section has three core missions:

To educate members on breaking developments in intellectual property that affect their practices, clients, and companies,
To serve as a forum to exchange new ideas and promote progress in IP law and the legal profession, and
To provide opportunities for attorneys, judges, stakeholders, and students to connect with each other and the wider Bay Area community

The section’s primary focus will be providing excellent continuing legal education courses. Situated at the epicenter of technology innovation, the section is fortunate to have thought leaders who volunteer their time to provide lectures and panel discussions. The section aims to ensure that the programs and speakers reflect the wide-ranging interests of attendees, as well as the diversity of the community.
The section’s first CLE in 2017, on the Internet of Things, featured a robust panel discussion concerning the legal ramifications of privacy and data security concerns on the design of IoT products. The second program, a “Summer of IP” in June, provided summer associates an opportunity to co-present on new developments in IP law. Future events will cover the Defend Trade Secrets Act, willful infringement and damages issues, developing effective IP strategies, and more. The section continues to bring the sharpest minds—from law firms, industry, advocacy groups, and academic institutions—to address cutting-edge issues.
None of these efforts would be possible without the members of the IP Section’s Executive Committee: Jonathan Blavin, Munger Tolles & Olson; Eli Ewing, Google; Gabe Gross, Latham & Watkins; Derek Knerr, eBay; Eugene Mar, Farella Braun + Martel; Jenifer Schmidt, Morrison & Foerster; Matan Shacham, Keker Van Nest & Peters; Adrian Sue Shin, Law Office of Adrian Sue Shin; and Jeremy Taylor, Baker Botts, New Executive Committee members include Eric Cheng, Kirkland & Ellis; Diana Kruze, Morrison & Foerster; and Ash Nagdev, Sidley Austin, who each have enthusiastically jumped into to planning programs, taking on outreach efforts, and bringing fresh perspectives.

About the author:

If you are interested in learning more about IP, consider joining this section. If you’d like to help advance the section’s mission of building community, email CLE Director Raquel Cabading at