March Bulletin Board: Our Members and Leaders Circle Firms Making Headlines

Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights of the Bay Area Honors Pro Bono Service

Several BASF members were recently honored by the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights at its 28th annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Luncheon.

JDC Board Member Neil Popović of Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton, received the Robert G. Sproul, Jr. Award for his pro bono efforts on behlaf of LCCR Bay Area clients. Krista Kim of the Valence Law Group was honored with the James T. Caleshu Award. According to LCCR Bay Area, Kim’s legal counsel has been instrumental in preventing displacement of low-income communities in the Bay Area. Suzette Pringle of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe was recognized with the Keta Taylor Colby Award for her work with LCCR’s Second Chance Legal Clinic.

Leader Circle firm Morgan, Lewis & Bockius’s Fair Chance Employment Team, which includes Eric Meckley, Emily Bieber and Sacha Steenhoek, was recognized with the Corporate Courage award for their work to ensure that people with arrest/conviction records are able to successfully re-enter the workforce

Trial Advocates Board Names Donald Carlson Board President

Donald Carlson of Carlson Calladine & Peterson was recently installed as president of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA).

Lieff Cabraser Included in National Law Journal’s Elite Trial Lawyers List

BASF Leader Circle firm Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein was recently selected as one of fifty of the National Law Journal and’s Elite Trial Lawyers. The law firms chosen were selected for doing the most creative and substantial plaintiff’s side work.

The Daily Journal Announces Top 20 Under 40

The following BASF members were recently recognized by The Daily Journal in their “Top 20 Under 40” list of top young attorneys: Michael Brown, Fenwick & West; Joshua Hill, Sidley Austin; and Haim Zaltzman, Latham & Watkins. Additionally, Reid Mullen, Keker & Van Nest, was recognized as one of “Five Associates to Watch.”

State Bar Announces Formation of Rules Revision Commission

The following BASF members were selected to serve on the State Bar of California’s new 18-member Rules Revision Commission: Co-Vice Chairman Jeffrey Bleich, Munger ,Tolles & Olson; Lee Harris, Goldstein, Gellman, Melbostad, Harris & McSparran; and Mark Tuft, Cooper White & Cooper.

The current rules have been in effect since 1987. A previous state bar commission had proposed a new set of rules. However, last year the bar requested the recommendations be returned. The Supreme Court granted the request in September 2014 and called for the appointment of a new commission to finish the work by March 31, 2017.

Patricia Gillette Honored by ABA Law Practice Division

The ABA Law Practice Division– Diversity & Inclusion Committee and the ABA Women Rainmakers recently honored Patricia Gillette, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, with the 2015 Golden Hammer Award.

The award is given in recognition of professional excellence and a commitment to diversity.

Directors Added to Justice & Diversity Center and Barristers Club Board of Directors

The Justice & Diversity Center (JDC) recently announced the addition of Phyra McCandless of the Gibbs Law Group to its Board of Directors to serve as the Barristers Club representative to the JDC Board.
The Barristers Club announced the addition of criminal attorney Erin Morgan to its Board of Directors to serve as the Minority Bar Coalition representative.

BASF’s Lawyer Referral and Information Service Continues to Educate Public and Legal Community on Trending Issues

LRIS Immigration Court Coordinator Adina Hemley-Bronstein and Camiel Becker, Becker & Lee, recently spoke to the San Francisco Legal Professionals Association at a monthly education presentation.
The topic of discussion was immigration law and the current status of the Immigration Court with the influx of unaccompanied minors.