BASF Bulletin Board: Our Members and Leaders Circle Firms Making Headlines


DLA Piper Partner Elected to Business Group’s Board

BASF member Dean Fealk, a partner at DLA Piper in San Francisco, has been elected to the board of directors of the California Business Roundtable, a non-partisan organization comprised of the senior executive leadership of major employers throughout the state providing leadership to strengthen California’s economy and create jobs.

Queen’s Bench Announces Directors Slate for 2014

The following BASF members were recently announced as officers and directors on the 2014 Queen’s Bench board: President Vanessa Hierbaum, Kaye Moser Hierbaum; First Vice President Jaime Touchstone, Futterman Dupree Dodd Croley Maier; Second Vice President Pauline Farmer-Koppenol, Fenwick & West; Treasurer Anne Gyemant Paris, Gyemant Paris Law; Secretary Holly Schaitberger, Maple Delacey Mussallem; Immediate Past President Lisa Freitas, Sefton Family Law Group; Director 15 + Years: Patricia Rosenberg, Haas Najarian; Director 2-7 Years: Laura Vocke, Schoenberg Family Law Group; Director at Large: Anoush Lancaster, The Veen Firm; Director at Large: Clarissa A. Kang, Trucker Huss.

Morrison Foerster Partner Appointed to Bench

BASF member Alison M. Tucher’s judgeship appointment for Alameda County Superior Court was recently announced by Governor Jerry Brown.

Tucher has been a partner at Morrison & Foerster since 2004. She served as a deputy district attorney at the Santa Clara County District Attorney’s Office from 1995 to 1998. She was also assistant director of the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s White House Security Review Team in 1995. She will fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Joseph R. Hurley.

Ethan P. Schulman Appointed to Judgeship

California Governor Brown recently announced the appointment of BASF member Ethan P. Schulman to a judgeship in the San Francisco Superior Court.

Schulman has been a senior counsel at Crowell & Moring since 2013, where he was a partner from 2009 to 2012. He fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Ellen Chaitin.

“40 Under 40” Announced

Justice & Diversity Center Board Member Kristen Law Sagafi, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein, was included on the San Francisco Business Times “40 Under 40” list. DLA Piper’s Roy McDonald was included on the Silicon Valley Business Journal’s “40 Under 40” list.

California Attorneys for Criminal Justice Announces 2014 Board

The following BASF members were announced as 2014 officers and board members of the California Attorneys for Criminal Justice (CACJ): Scott Sugarman, Sugarman & Cannon, will serve as president and BASF Board Member Teresa Caffese, Law Offices of Teresa Caffese; Seth Chazin, Law Offices of Seth P. Chazin; Dennis Riordan, Riordan Horgan; Julie Traun, Lawyer Referral and Information Service of BASF; and Brian Worthington, The Worthington Law Centre will serve on CACJ’s Board of Governors.

CACJ is the country’s largest statewide organization of criminal defense lawyers and allied professionals.

Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Honors BASF Members

Each year, the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights (LCCR) of the Bay Area selects individuals to honor for their exceptional advocacy on behalf of LCCR clients and in support of their mission to advance social justice.

The following BASF members were honored at LCCR’s reception in January: the Jack W. Londen Award was presented to a George H. Brown, Gibson Dunn Crutcher; the Robert G. Sproul, Jr. Award was presented to Sarah Flanagan, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman; the Keta Taylor Colby Award was presented to Richard Robinson, Farella Braun + Martel and the Father Cuchulain Moriarty Award was presented to Kevin O’Brien, Tingley Piontowski.

Fenwick & West Recognized as Top Technology Practice Group

BASF Leaders Circle firm Fenwick & West recently announced that the firm has been named among the top Technology Practice Groups of the Year nationwide by Law360.