January Bulletin Board: Our Members and Leaders Circle Firms Making Headlines


Past President Honored by U.S. Department of State
Former U.S. Ambassador to Australia and 2003 BASF President Jeff Bleich was recently honored with the Sue Cobb Award for Exemplary Diplomatic Service by the United States Department of State.

Daily Journal Names Top Neutrals
The following BASF members were included on the Daily Journal’s Top 50 Neutrals in California list: Hon. Alfred Chiantelli (Ret.), ADR Services; Hon. William Cahill (Ret.), Kenneth Gack, and Hon. Ellen James (Ret.), all three of JAMS.

Mark Rudy, Rudy Exelrod, Zieff & Lowe and Hon. Rebecca Westerfield (Ret.), JAMS were listed in the “Masters” section and Hon. Jamie Jacobs-May (Ret.), JAMS, was listed in the “Rising Stars” section.

GGU Law to Recognize Myron Moskovitz
After four decades of service to the Golden Gate University Law School community, BASF member Myron Moskovitz retired at the end of December. GGU Law will honor Moskovitz at a reception on January 25 for his numerous contributions.

BASF Member Elected as Fellow
Hon. Rebecca Westerfield (Ret.), JAMS, was recently elected as a Fellow of the College of Commercial Arbitrators (CCA). CCA is a national organization of commercial arbitrators providing a meaningful contribution to the profession, the public and to the businesses and lawyers who depend on commercial arbitration as a primary means of dispute resolution.

Asian Pacific American Bar Association Recognizes Member
BASF member David Tsai, Perkins Coie, was recently honored by the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association with one of their “Best Under 40” awards. The award recognizes talented individuals within the Asian Pacific American legal community who have achieved prominence and distinction in their fields of endeavor.

Daily Journal Recognizes Top Municipal Law Attorneys
The following BASF members were included on the Daily Journal’s list of Top Municipal Law Attorneys in California: Gregg Adam, Carroll Burdick & McDonough; and Arthur Hartinger, Meyers Nave Riback Silver & Wilson.

Consumer Attorneys of California Honor Member and Install President
BASF member John Feder, Rouda Feder Tietjen & McGuinn was recently installed as the Consumer Attorneys of California president. Feder has extensive experience representing consumers in wrongful death and personal injury cases and has also resolved cases involving product liability, medical malpractice, elder abuse and public.

In addition to the installation of the president, CAOC Women’s Caucus honored BASF member Lori E. Andrus, Andrus Anderson, with its Consumer Advocate Award for her outstanding contributions to the legal profession.

Black Women Lawyers Association of Northern California Announces 2014 Board
The following BASF members will serve on the Executive Board of the Black Women Lawyers Association of Northern California: Monique Jewett-Brewster, Bryan Cave, will serve as treasurer; Michelle Stewart, Reed Smith, will serve as membership chair; attorney Tanya Eliason will serve as strategic partnerships chair and Candice Petty, 24 Hour Fitness, is the immediate past president.
BWLNC provides professional, educational, social, and moral support for Black women judges, lawyers and law students in Northern California, while also remaining dedicated to active service in our surrounding communities.

Leaders Circle Firms Receives Perfect Scores on Human Rights Campaign Corporate Equality Index
The following BASF Leaders Circle firms received 100% scores on the Human Rights Campaign’s Corporate Equality Index: Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld; Arnold & Porter; Bingham McCutchen; Bryan Cave; Crowell & Moring; Fenwick & West; Foley & Lardner; Hinshaw & Culberston; Littler Mendelson; Morrison & Foerster; Nixon Peabody; O’Melveny & Myers; Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe; Perkins Coie; Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman; Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton; Shook, Hardy & Bacon; and Winston & Strawn.

The index is the national benchmarking tool on corporate policies and practices related to LGBT employees.

Leaders Circle Firms Included on BTI’s Client Service A-Team List
The following Leaders Circle firms were included on BTI’s Client Service A-Team list: Morrison & Foerster; Latham & Watkins; Bryan Cave; Littler Mendelson; Foley & Lardner; DLA Piper and Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart.

According to BTI, “The BTI Client Service A-Team evaluates individual law firm performance through the eyes of the client.